Year 5, Day 38: “Be Yourself” with Audioslave’s “Out of Exile”

Year 5, Day 38: Audioslave – Out of Exile


Track List

  1. Your Time has Come
  2. Out of Exile
  3. Be Yourself
  4. Doesn’t Remind Me
  5. Drown Me Slowly
  6. Heaven’s Dead
  7. The Worm
  8. Man or Animal
  9. Yesterday to Tomorrow
  10. Dandelion
  11. #1 Zero
  12. The Curse

About the Album

Out of Exile is the second studio album from rock supergroup, Audioslave. The album was recorded from July 2004 through January 2005 and released on May 23rd 2005 through Epic Records and Interscope Records. The album peaked at number one on the Billboard 200, while single Be Yourself charted at number on the Modern Rock Tracks and the Mainsteam Rock Tracks charts. Single Doesn’t Remind Me was nominated for a Grammy Award for Best Hard Rock Performance.

Thoughts on the Album

We’ve arrived at the last three albums for this year. I thank you all for coming and reading about each an everyone so far, but we’re not done yet. Audioslave is a supergroup that is comprised of members from Rage Against the Machine and Soundgarden; and their first album reflected that. Today’s album, Out of Exile is an album where the band finds it’s groove and own sound. The product is a unified one that stands out and stands on its own, though the elements like guitarist Tom Morello busting out effects pedals and making outrageous and outlandish sounds effect from his guitar from almost every song. Chris Cornell still hits notes that not many vocalists have bragging rights of hitting.

Your Time Has Come is a heavy riff rocker that opens up the album. The track slightly resembles a track from their self-titled first album, Cochise. The drums really shine on this track and makes the listener want more. Similar to Your Time Has Come are Drown Me Slowly and Man or Animal in that these songs follow the same heavy and hard riffs rocking formula and style. The more one listens to the album the more one can hear how expressive and meshed each member is. The titular track, Out of Exile, features an excellent solo that is relatively effect free. The solo from Morello is both complex in instrumentation and in theory.

Lead single Be Yourself, is a relatively midtempo rocker featuring excellent guitar riffs and work. It was a song that grew on me. Another song that grew on me was Doesn’t Remind Me. The rhythm section perfectly accompanies and is incredibly infectious and catchy. The guitar solo on Doesn’t Remind Me is absolutely beautiful. The song builds up to it, and then it comes. It’s almost perfectly set to the tone of the song. The effects are not so heavy laden, that if you wanted to learn it, you could easily.


Out of Exile is an incredibly fine album. While nothing truly comes across as defining, it is a better effort when compared to their first album. While I can see how the album can be dismissed as nothing more than generic modern rock, it is incredibly enjoyable. The album perfectly blends the style and sound of the four musicians. The album as a whole flows easily and feels less forced than their first album. It excellent shows off the band’s skill and talent in a cohesive effort that is lean, hard, heavy, and strong.

(Previous Post)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s