Year 5, Day 21: The Donots Stop the Clocks with “Coma Chameleon”

Year 5, Day 21: Donots – Coma Chameleon


Track List

  1. There’s A Tunnel at the End of the Light
  2. Break My Stride
  3. Pick Up the Pieces
  4. Headphones
  5. New Hope for the Dead
  6. Anything
  7. To Hell With Love
  8. Stop the Clocks
  9. The Right Kind of Wrong
  10. This Is Not a Drill
  11. Killing Time
  12. Somewhere, Someday

About the Album

Coma Chameleon is the seventh studio album from German punk band, the Donots. The album was released on March 28th 2008 throughout Europe through Solitary Man Records.

Thoughts on the Album

Veterans of the German punk scene, the Donots are no strangers to producing good punk albums. But with 2008’s Coma Chameleon, it marked a departure from the high flying, blistering, loud, and in-your-face punk rock to a more melancholic alternative rock. The album is a much more darker sound than that of their previous six albums. For those that enjoyed their previous six albums, this one may sound jarring, but that’s alright. The sound is much more mature and “grown up”. At some point a band needs to experiment with different sounds and styles to find out what works.

The album isn’t as much pop-punk as it is an evolution into alternative rock. While the catchy sing-along choruses aren’t as prevalent, they are still found on the album, especially with the singles Stop the Clocks and The Right Kind of Wrong. But from the lead single, Break My Stride, you develop a floating stream of consciousness that climaxes with Stop the Clocks. Break My Stride is a fast paced rocking track that channels the band’s previous work. Stop the Clocks, however is a more of an arena rocker and traverses into ballad territory. From there you have the punk rocker, Pick Up the Pieces and the hip hop influenced Headphones. The latter of which has a strong electric bass beat.


Overall, Coma Chameleon is a heck of a transitional album. While it moves on from the loud and proud punk of Got the Noise and eventually improves into the anthemic The Long Way HomeComa Chameleon holds it’s own. It’s not a bad album, but it’s not great. It’s good. It has it’s flaws and turn some hardcore punk rockers off, but it does have appeal to it. It’s an album whose lyrics are nearly “universal” to the point in which everyone can understand and will relate to them. Coma Chameleon is the definition of a DIY, do-it-yourself effort. Definitely worthy of the effort.

(Previous Post)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s