Year 3, Day 30: Brand New – The Devil and God Are Raging Inside Me

Year 3, Day 30: The Devil and God Are Raging Inside Me

Track List

  1. Sowing Season
  2. Millstone
  3. Jesus Christ
  4. Degausser
  5. Limousine (MS Rebridge)
  6. You Won’t Know
  7. Welcome to Bangkok
  8. Not the Sun
  9. Luca
  10. Untitled
  11. The Archers Bows Have Broken
  12. Handcuffs

About the Album

The Devil and God Are Raging Inside Me is the third studio album from alternative rock band, Brand New. The album, recorded from March 2005 to April 2006 was released on November 20 2006 through major record label, Interscope Records. The album debuted at number 31 on the Billboard 200 in the United States

Thoughts on the Album

In the world of music, it is usually very rare to see such an emotional and personal album be almost universally well received by a mass audience. With The Devil and God Are Raging Inside Me, it seems as if it’s frontman Jesse Lacey doing battle with his inner demons in this album, rather than making this something his fans would enjoy more. But therein lies a difference between most other bands and this album… this album beautifully (and brilliantly) balances battling inner demons and creating an album that fans would enjoy, all whilst leaning towards the former.

Compared to previous releases, The Devil and God Are Raging Inside Me, brings a new level of aggression and passion that wasn’t seen before. Every track on this album has a story to tell: whether it’s Sowing Season‘s account of the death of friends. Or Millstone‘s almost inner monologue about faith in God and one’s love for their parents. And while I can see this being consider “depressing” from some listeners, but I believe the album reflects the battles are raging on the inside of every one of us.

The album opens with Sowing Season, track that opens with lulling guitars before they explode into a seeming wall of aggression. This aggression brings with it, melodic wails of “Yeah”. It’s the drums and guitars that help create the a kind of emotion that Jesse Lacey wants you to hear and feel. The guitars are wailing, crying, while the drums are the heartbeat. Millstone continues on with the sound of this album, while appealing to older Brand New fans… it combines a melodic and ear-catching chorus.

Jesus Christ is an incredibly beautiful song with minimal instrumentation. This minimal amount of instrumentation sets the focus on the lyrics. It’s the lyrics we should be focused on. It’s beautiful, subdued, and sublime song that has a transition into a soaring chorus. If you are looking for the track with the most energy, look no further than The Archers’ Bows Have Broken. The track does not slow down at all and one of highest points of the album comes towards the outro of this song where the chorus is played with the addition of background vocals. For me, I just can’t really explain it with words.


You know, whenever I listen to this album, it is almost like I am listening in on someone. My personal favorite tracks other than Archers are: Sowing Season, Millstone, and Jesus Christ. But in all honesty, there are no bad songs on this album. It’s one of those albums designed to make you feel something. There are songs that will cut into you deep and other songs that will remind you to check yourself in check. Remember, while you will probably feel some emotional connection to any album you listen to, the main point of music is to enjoy yourself while listening.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s