Year 3, Day 9: Sam & Dave’s Hold On, I’m Comin’

Year 3, Day 9: Sam & Dave – Hold On, I’m Comin’

Tracklisting

  1. Hold On, I’m Comin’
  2. If You Got The Loving
  3. I Take What I Want
  4. Ease Me
  5. I Got Everything I Need
  6. Don’t Make It So Hard On Me
  7. It’s A Wonder
  8. Don’t Help Me Out
  9. Just Me
  10. You Got It Made
  11. You Don’t Know Like I Know
  12. Blame Me (Don’t Blame My Heart)

About the Album

Hold On, I’m Comin’ is the debut album from soul duo Sam & Dave. The album, released in 1966 through Atlantic Records’ Stax label, peaked at number 45 on the Billboard 200.

Thoughts on the Album

Welcome to day nine of the Broad Street Playlist. Today’s album is full of soul. Literally. As many music critics believe, soul duo, Sam & Dave‘s Hold On, I’m Comin’ represents the epitome of Memphis soul, in all it’s down-home and unpretentious glory. Soul music has many different styles. Where in the north, Motown, added in more pop influences such as strings; Sam & Dave outright rejected it. The duo kept their Memphis soul simple and raw. Not only that this album isn’t really all that heavily produced, which lies the appeal of this album, Hold On, I’m Comin’.

The album starts out naturally with the titular track. Hold On, I’m Comin‘ is a real soul stomper. Combine Al Jackson’s rocking drum beat, Duck Dunn’s loping basslines, Steve Cropper’s funky guitar licks, and Booker T.’s organ wizardry and you give Sam & Dave a tireless, unrestrained groove to play with. Of course, leave it to Isaac Hayes and David Porter to pump out soulful lyrics. Interesting bit of trivia, the song was inspired by an interaction between Issac Hayes and David Porter. Porter was in the bathroom when Hayes shouted to him “hurry up!” and Porter responded “hold on, I’m coming!”

If You Got the Loving, with its subdued horn chart combined with country-style lead guitar fills and Jackson’s relentless backbeat plods along with a righteous wailing. While the funky You Don’t Know Like I Know could be considered on of the duo’s first true hits. Other strong songs on the album include: I Take What I WantDon’t Make It So Hard On Me, and I Got Everything I Need.

The real brains behind this album are the duo of Issac Hayes and David Porter. However, this album is a worth endeavor that all fans of music (not just soul music) should listen to.

Conclusion

One of the things that gives Hold On, I’m Comin’ it’s very unique edge is the overall rawness and what I can only dub as “just-starting-outness”. The duo are just cutting their teeth, as songwriting partnership between Hayes and Porter blossomed. A delight to the ears, is the fact that Sam & Dave sing more in unison rather than trade verses. Anyway, good luck finding a mono version of this album, as the stereo release is absolutely garbage. And so I must ask you question: do you need some soul in your life? If you answered “yes” or even “no”, you should probably pick up this album.

Leave a Reply

