Day 24: The Bouncing Souls – How I Spent My Summer Vacation

Day 24: The Bouncing Souls – How I Spent My Summer Vacation

Tracklist

  1. That Song”
  2. “Private Radio”
  3. “True Believers”
  4. “Better Life”
  5. “The Something Special”
  6. “Broken Record”
  7. “Lifetime”
  8. “Manthem”
  9. “Break-up Song”
  10. “Streetlight Serenade (To No One)”
  11. “Late Bloomer”
  12. “No Comply”
  13. “Gone”

About the Album

How I Spent My Summer Vacation, is the fifth studio album of punk band, The Bouncing Souls. It was released in May of 2001. Features the song “Manthem” which was featured in the video game Tony Hawk Pro Skater 4.

Thoughts on the tracklist

“That Song” kicks off How I Spent My Summer Vacation, leaving you begging for more after just two minutes. The catchy rhythm gets you ready for the rest of the album’s roughly 32 minutes.

“That Song” and “Private Radio” give you a taste… they indulge you with what is coming up on How I Spent My Summer Vacation. Make no mistake, if you made it this far, there’s no turning back.

The third song, “True Believers” is one of the best songs in the Bouncing Souls’ repertoire. Featuring amazing drum work, guitar riffs and vocals, this ode/anthem to friendship is like that one song the punk icons of the 70s and 80s were trying to write but failed. This song is an instant classic.

“Manthem” or track 8 on How I Spent My Summer Vacation, is another anthem from the New Jersey punk rockers. It’s that song you put on when you are going out on a Friday night with your friends and are looking for something to do. Containing typical and standard New Jersey punk style, opening with drums and complete with the “oi!” chanting through the chorus.

Thoughts on the album

If you are looking substance, this album isn’t for you. Nope. At a little over 34 minutes, the Bouncing Souls kick it into fourth gear from the start of “That Song” and don’t downshift back into first until the waning seconds of “Gone”. The Bouncing Souls have a novel concept: punk music, but not about punk topics (politics, relationships, etc). And with How I Spent My Summer Vacation, it works. It’s rather down to earth nature definitely adds value to the album. Despite the light subject matter (bikes, girls, summer vacation) they nail each song home with great vocals, ripping guitars, and hooks galore.

Conclusion

How I Spent My Summer Vacation, is the album you put on with your friends and have a good time. The boys from New Jersey traded in the raw energy from Maniacal Laughter, in exchange for a richer and more heartfelt sound… and guess what? It worked. How I Spent My Summer Vacation, is a feel-good classic.

Leave a Reply

