Day 21: Bon Jovi – Have A Nice Day

Day 21: Bon Jovi – Have A Nice Day


  1. Have A Nice Day
  2. I Want To Be Loved
  3. Welcome to Wherever You Are
  4. Who Says You Can’t Go Home
  5. Last Man Standing
  6. Bells of Freedom
  7. Wildflower
  8. Last Cigarette
  9. I Am
  10. Complicated
  11. Novocaine
  12. Story of My Life
  13. Who Says You Can’t Go Home (duet w/ Jennifer Nettles)

About the Album

Have A Nice Day is the ninth studio album by New Jersey native and arena rockers, Bon Jovi. The album features hit singles “Have A Nice Day” and “Who Says You Can’t Go Home”. The album was produced in 2004, and released in September of 2005. It debuted at number one in 15 different countries and debuted at number two in the United States and United Kingdom.

About the Tracklist

Title track and album opener “Have A Nice Day” definitely screams radio friendly, but in a way that makes it sound like an old school Bon Jovi classic. It is a very guitar driven song with an irresistable hook in the chorus. Just a great song with a driving groove and uplifting lyrics that are slightly tongue in cheek. Great way to start an album.

“I Want to be Loved” is another guitar driven song, featuring guitarist Richie Sambora’s trademark work on the talkbox. It is definitely a departure from the usual Bon Jovi formula. To me, I find this refreshing to hear the band try something with a more modern rock vibe.

The song “Last Man Standing,” should have been included on “This Left Feels Right” album, then appeared on the box set finally makes it on an album. Much more aggressive and harder than the previous version. It has driving drums, tons of guitars, and a different arrangement on the backing vocals with Sambora singing much more than on the original version.

“Who Says You Can Go Home” the second single and fourth track from Have A Nice Day, is one of the best tracks from the album. This song upon first listen has a very modern country feel to it… which, obviously was intentional. That said track 13, “Who Says You Can’t Go Home,” (the same song) features a duet with Jennifer Nettles of Sugarland. It just adds to the overall country feel of the song and Nettles vocals work very well with Jon’s.

Thoughts on the Album

I’ll be the first to admit, it’s not one of the best Bon Jovi albums, but it is far from the worst as some critics want you to believe. And being completely honest, outside of “Have A Nice Day” and “Who Says You Can Go Home” it took 2 to 3 listens before the rest of the songs began to stick in my head. The album is definitely consistent when compared to that of their previous release Bounce.


If you’re a Bon Jovi, it’s have to own. If you’re not, download Spotify and check it out. You may like it, you may hate it. You can wish all you want for another New Jersey, but it’s just not going to happen. Love it or hate it… Have A Nice Day proves that no matter what happens in the music scene, Bon Jovi will always be here. Moreover, if they keep releasing quality albums like this… they will at least help one fan have a nice day.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s